Silence… and smile

“Silence is a true friend who never betrays.”
–Confucius

Yesterday while looking for a book in our house I found a hand-written note that caught my attention. “Successful people keep two things in their lips – smile and silence,” it read.

One of the things I have learned the most about during this year abroad is the value of silence. I already cherished it before this journey – living alone when I started working years ago, I would realize by the beginning of every other week that I had not spoken a single word during the past weekend. Living with eight people is a very different experiment, and I have come to not only appreciate my own silence, but also learn from it. As a matter of fact, silence has allowed me to have a better understanding of myself and my surroundings, to guide my thought while taking decisions, to foster open dialogue and create the inclusive and accepting environment I would wish for everyone around me to be in, as I want it for myself.

I find the topic intriguing! Recently, after I went through a couple of articles about the story of Angela Merkel – her origins and rise to power –, both authors highlighted their interviewees defining the Chancellor by the power of her silence. Even Merkel’s biographer, Dirk Kurbjuweit, would put it this way: “She governs by silence. It’s her biggest advantage and disadvantage.”

Much to be said about the past, present and future of Germany and its position towards current international affairs, nonetheless to be admired the career and achievements of its current Chancellor, now in her third term and still facing with determined character such tremendous challenges within the country, the Eurozone, and the political and economic landscape around the world. But for the time being, here’s to silence!

… Now, smile…

–at

Yangon, Myanmar. December 8, 2014. #ttt

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

What is (your) impact, anyway?

Back in May in Santiago, we argued for some time about what we wanted to achieve out of this year and every engagement we would have. We wanted to learn from the mistakes that Start-Up Chile had. We agreed that we would constantly face... Continue →